Getintothis Deep Cuts at Buyers Club (2 Mar ’17)

A new venue for me, as it was off to Buyers Club for the second of GetintothisDeep Cuts nights of live bands. Quick disclaimer: I occasionally write for Getintothis, so I may be slightly biased.

Handstamp

There were to be five bands on stage, none of which I had previous experience of before discovering they were to be performing at this event, so it was a night of new music for me.

Prior to that, I had to call in to The Dispensary to pass on a match ticket to a couple of Finnish acquaintances, Ari and Kati. We had a good chat about football, music and the city of Liverpool before I headed up Renshaw Street.

I got two compliments on my choice of t-shirt for the evening (a nice purple cow Dinosaur Jr number), before being accosted upon arrival by GiT head honcho Peter to check what I was wearing. So, there’s at least one regular reader of this blog then.

Fellow GiT writer Craig helpfully pointed out the location of the bar, and recommended a Rye Pale Ale, and I followed his advice (a good choice) before heading upstairs to the actual venue and handing over the princely sum of £4 for entry.

War Room Records DJ’s were spinning some fine tunes already, including some Alvvays that I initially ascribed to Veronica Falls before realising my error.

First band on were the ridiculously young-looking three piece SPILT who kicked off with a heavy first number that (unconsciously, I expect) had hints of classic SF psych in it like Quicksilver Messenger Service and Moby Grape.

A new song called (I think) Wild Morphine featured some great wild guitar from singer Morgan Molyneux, who was sporting similar black Adidas trabs to me, fashion fans.

SPILT

A song about “getting off your face” resembled a cross between The Cure and Bitch Magnet, while another called Saliva reminded me more of Sub Pop behemoths Tad.

Bassist Ronald Ayres looked like the love child of Rupert Everett and Spiritualized’s Jason Pierce, with the band completed by Josh Cunningham on drums.

I’d have been bang into these thirty (eek) years ago, but I still enjoyed them, as did a mosh pit of what presumably were their mates, including a very healthy quota of women as well as lads.

Other songs brought to mind the likes of Pixies and Mudhoney, while their final song sounded like a thrashy Spacemen 3 – no bad thing.

Here’s the Ty Segall-influenced Acid Baby:

Foollwing some more grunge-oriented music from the DJ it was time for Pixey, together with her four-piece band.

Pixey

They started off with some funky jangle with hints of The Bhundu Boys, with the African hints coming through again on Birthday, though this was more Fear Of Music era Talking Heads, but less dense.

After new song Sweet Surrender, the funkier Hometown was the highlight of the set for me:

Invisible was a little to epic for me, veering towards power ballad territory, but the final, poppy Young was much more up my street, which was being enjoyed by RongoRongo’s Mick Chrysalid, not the first gig around town I have seen him at.

Next up were the Norwegian all-female three piece I See Rivers, who are now based in Liverpool.

I See Rivers

They opened with Loved Ones, that I had previously listened to online (complete with charmingly accented pronunciation), but reminded me considerably less of Lily Allen in the flesh – that is not at all.

Here’s a video of it live in session:

They are full of gorgeous harmonies, a la Stealing Sheep, if that’s not too lazy a comparison for a locally-based three-piece all-female folky combo. There’s also elements of the Carter Family and Ralph Stanley in there.

I See Rivers in amongst the crowd

They stepped down into the audience to sing one number, just three beautifully intertwined voices and acoustic guitar, only a couple of feet away. This was utterly spellbinding with an Appalachian quality to it.

The DJ spun the utterly glorious Love Goes On by The Go-Betweens before band number four, the youthful The BOHOs, possibly my least favourite of tonight’s acts, but still enjoyable in their own way.

The guitarist appeared to be wearing his sister’s pyjamas, while the bassist looked like he’d stepped out of some mid-western diner. No wonder there was some fella in the audience sketching them.

The BOHOs

The closest comparison I could make to their sound is Oasis with sheets of guitar noise on top, and they were being well enjoyed by all the kids who’d previously been down the front for SPILT.

Here’s the only tune of theirs that I can find online at the moment the Arctic Monkeys-esque Monday Morning:

The War Room DJs topped themselves after that with some Suicide and The Stooges, before a closing set from Strange Collective’s Ali Horn, with band.

Bloom is an epic, crawling, psych-tinged number, with its rather grandiose line “my love is bigger than the universe”. Overall, the sound reminded me a little of Wooden Shjips, just with more up-front tunes.

Ali Horn

This was followed by a song that veered much closer to MOR, completed with a 1980’s power ballad-esque guitar solo. But much better than that sounds.

The set continued with its infectious krautrock sounds, a fine end to the evening’s line-up. An excellent gig, and certainly the best value for quite some time.

Tonight’s t-shirt

Sadly I failed to spot another band tee amongst the crowd, though surely there must have been one or two to go along with my Dinosaur Jr one.

Follow me

If you want to get an email notification each time there is a new blog post (about once a fortnight, on average), then click on the “Follow” button at the top left of this screen.

Playlist

Here is some of the music from the night on Spotify:

Leave a Reply

